I didn’t choose the coeliac life, the coeliac life chose me

They say you don’t truly appreciate something until it’s gone, for me that ‘something’ is gluten. At the time of writing this, it’s been 637 days since I started my new ‘gluten free’ life. But what is gluten and coeliac disease and how did I get diagnosed?

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley and rye, and coeliac disease is a lifelong autoimmune disease caused by a reaction to gluten. One in 100 people have this condition and must live by a gluten free diet, but gluten and wheat intolerances are common too.

So what foods contain gluten? You might be surprised as to how many. Bread, pasta, cakes, most big brand crisps and the gift from the gods- pizza- are all made with gluten. Flour is used as a thickener too, so curries and soups can be a no go.

44467480265_488d1b6312_b
(Photo credit: Marco Verch on flickr.com)

As you can imagine, when I found out I would not be allowed to eat all of this anymore, I was shocked and quite gloomy. These feelings still occur occasionally, but I have tried to look on the bright side; no more gluten should mean no more reactions. In theory at least.

I cannot pinpoint when I first started experiencing severe symptoms of coeliac disease, and I can’t say why either. Throughout my life it always seemed I’d be the one to throw up after family meals. I was nicknamed Chucky for a while.

1280px-Chucky_logo.svg.png

However, these would only be every six months or so. My first memory of recurring problems was around July 2016. I was on my Duke of Edinburgh Silver expedition and after a long hard day of walking, all I wanted to do was relax. Instead, I was awake all night throwing up and still had to walk the next day. For the following six months I experienced similar problems several times a week. I would get butterflies and pins and needles all over my body, then I’d throw up.

Over the course of another half a year, I saw many doctors and got many diagnoses; anxiety, acid reflux, pressure of A levels and my imagination to name a few.

giphy
My reaction to being told I was over-thinking my sickness (@spongebob on giphy.com)

It was a while before a blood test for coeliac disease was done. And sure enough, the results were positive. I finally knew why I was suffering.

I never would have chosen the coeliac life, but it chose me, and I’m doing my best to adapt to it. It hasn’t been easy; as I’ll explain next week…

Published: 28/03/19

Leave a comment